How important are clerkship grades for matching into top IM programs?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Jason26

7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm an American grad w/ a 247 on the Step 1 and mostly Sats (equivalent of pass) in almost all my third year clearkships with the exception of Internal Medicine where I got a High Sat and possibly Peds, but the grade isn't in yet. I have a Master's degree, but no hardcore research experience and my LoR's are probably decent. With these stats, would anyone be able to estimate my chances of getting an interview for IM at Cornell or Columbia? What about NYU, Einstein, and Mt. Sinai?

Members don't see this ad.

Just curious-- why do you think you didn't snag any honors in your clinical rotations? You are obviously a smart guy. I think that top programs will wonder the same thing and you should probably address this to some degree in your PS.

MadC

I don't think I got any Honors grades because 1) they were simply very difficult to get and 2) I was a transfer student from a foreign medical school where my clinical preparation wasn't as good as the students already there and it took me awhile to catch up. My written exam grades were also not as good as I usually do because I didn't have the luxury of staying home all day to study as in 2nd year. The average day on a rotation was 11 hours long. Anyway, I don't like making excuses for myself but those are the reasons.

Members don't see this ad :)
You should be able to get an interview at most of these programs.The einstein- montefiore program is not as competitive as the others although it has a good reputation.The einstein Jacobi program has IMGs and not too difficult.

HI,

I am only a third year, but I would assume that your LORs would take on more importance. If you have strong letters, along with your awesome Step 1 score, I don't think there is anything to worry about.