How is the job market for Neuropsychologists?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

pjfooeve09

5+ Year Member
2+ Year Member
7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I got my bachelors in Psychology, and I am interested in applying for Psy.D in Neuropsychology. Is it easy for graduates to find a job in this field?

Members don't see this ad.

If you go to a good program, get a good accredited internship, and do a HCG consistent postdoc, pretty easy to get a job, depending on where you limit yourself to. Also, why a PsyD and not a PhD? Research experience is generally more important for neuropsychologists, so I wouldn't write that one off.

Reactions: 1 users
If you go to a good program, get a good accredited internship, and do a HCG consistent postdoc, pretty easy to get a job, depending on where you limit yourself to. Also, why a PsyD and not a PhD? Research experience is generally more important for neuropsychologists, so I wouldn't write that one off.

Thanks for the response. Although I am ok with doing research, I prefer to work in a clinical setting with patients directly, and hopefully open my own private practice.

Members don't see this ad :)
Most of us do work in a clinical setting with patients directly. Contrary to the perpetuated myth, the PhD is not a research degree. The vast majority of PhD grads go onto clinical careers. By all means apply to both, I would just caution against automatically discounting dozens of fully funded programs which will give you the same level, if not better training in clinical work.

Reactions: 3 users