Menu Icon Search
Close Search

About the ads

How long to study for step 2

Discussion in 'Step I' started by gatormed, 02.23.02.

1. gatormed

gatormed Member

SDN 7+ Year Member

SDN Members don't see this ad. (About Ads)
    I'm planning on taking Step 2 early since I will be an early match. I would like to do well since I am planning on applying for a very competitive fellowship in the future. How long do I need to study to get a good score. I studied 12 hours a day for about a month for step 1 and did fairly well. I don't have that much time for step 2.
  2. Jim Picotte

Jim Picotte Senior Member

SDN 7+ Year Member
    I studied for about 8 hours a day for 6 days and did extremely well. Also, I would use Step 2 study material for all your clerkships as well so that when you're really studying for Step 2, you're familiar with the books when studying for Step 2. I used the blueprints series which I thought was excellent and this was my main source of study material. These books aren't enough for the clerkships, but they are great for High Yield Step 2 review.

Good luck.
  3. LaCirujana

LaCirujana Smoking Gun

SDN 7+ Year Member
    4 days, about 8 hours per day, using Blueprints and NMS (mostly NMS), and also did extremely well. I thought Step 2 was significantly easier than Step 1. Ditto the above re. using review books during clerkships. Suerte.
  4. neutropeniaboy

neutropeniaboy Blasted ENT Attending

Attending Physician
    SDN 10+ Year Member
    I suggest studying if you want to do well; however, I honestly think that if you've been paying attention during your rotations and studied for your shelf exams (if you take them), you can walk right into the exam and pass.

I did.