How many hours a day do you study for Step 1 during MS2 courses?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Elbowstoopointy

U aware?
10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Like 2-3 hrs a day dedicated step 1 hours with GT/First Aid/RR, or do you guys do more? I think its ridiculous to not even look at stuff like micro, immuno, neuro, biochem etc until your 4 weeks of dedicated prep personally.

Oh and this is assuming you don't go to a school that does letter grades 2nd year

Members don't see this ad.

Like 2-3 hrs a day dedicated step 1 hours with GT/First Aid/RR, or do you guys do more? I think its ridiculous to not even look at stuff like micro, immuno, neuro, biochem etc until your 4 weeks of dedicated prep personally.

Oh and this is assuming you don't go to a school that does letter grades 2nd year

Step 1 was in June and I started studying in January. Started with 25 UW questions a day and would annotate into FA. This took 1 - 1.5 hrs a day. I would read FA and RR on the weekends mostly.

I didn't study Step 1 material the week before test week or during test week.

In April I transitioned to doing about 3-4 hrs a day with the same amount of UW questions but FA and RR reading during the week plus some shelf studying (mostly Path b/c I needed to do well).

I was at a letter grade school and was able to get straight A's and do well on Step 1 with this strategy

Step 1 was in June and I started studying in January. Started with 25 UW questions a day and would annotate into FA. This took 1 - 1.5 hrs a day. I would read FA and RR on the weekends mostly.

I didn't study Step 1 material the week before test week or during test week.

In April I transitioned to doing about 3-4 hrs a day with the same amount of UW questions but FA and RR reading during the week plus some shelf studying (mostly Path b/c I needed to do well).