How many surgery rotations is too many?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

QuestionAll

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm a third year medical student with a USMLE score that is not great- (but above the 200 cutoff) so the plan is to rotate at programs to show that I am a worthwhile consideration...

I was going to try to go to three or four places, obviously not only focusing on gen surg but others like peds, trauma, burn, oncology, etc.

Is this a good idea or will it be looked upon as desperate? Also any thoughts on whether its best to sub-I at my favorite program or rotate more closely to interview period?

Thanks in advance for any help!

Members don't see this ad.

I think there are a number of interview rotation/away sub-I type threads out there so do a search...

In general, IMHO you hurt your education by loading your electives with one discipline, particularly the discipline you will spend 5yrs focused training in....
I'm a third year medical student...
by the way, your status still lists you as pre-med with a join date January 2007... math doesn't exactly add-up:confused:

If they graduated from college in spring 2007 and went straight to med school they would be a third year now (class of 2011).

Members don't see this ad :)
Additionally, if you haven't done so already, you're going to want to check with your institution's requirements. Many (including mine) require that a minimum number of electives be done at the home institution and also limit the number of electives you can do for credit in a specialty or discipline. I suppose its not impossible to schedule that many away electives but I think it could be exceedingly difficult depending on the requirements of your home institution.

Last edited:
I think there are a number of interview rotation/away sub-I type threads out there so do a search...