How much is Malpractice Insurance?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

icebrat001

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
nevermind

Members don't see this ad.

icebrat001 said:
Is it paid on a monthly or yearly basis?

Also, if one does not match into neurosugery, what happens? Are you out of the game for a year, try a different speciality, what?

Also, it is recommended to get a MS or a PhD to better my chances of becoming a neurosurgeon?

Should I major in neuroscience in undergrad?

you asked some good questions, and it's good you are thinking ahead, and i'll just give you my take on it. (although my best advice is to enjoy the journey, and pursue what you love.) i'm sure others may have different opinions. (i'm just a first year med student, so take it with a grain of salt)

you will have your usmle step 1 score by the time you apply for residency, and your med school dean should advise you based on your 'competitiveness', such as step 1 score, grades, research, AOA, etc. if you are a strong candidate, you'd still be advised to apply to a broad range of programs, from your highly-competitive 'dream residency program' to programs you have a 'strong chance of getting in' (if there is such a thing in neurosurgery)

for neuro residency you are required to do one year of general surgery (surgery preliminary), the matching for which is sometimes separate (unless the neuro program combines that first year, you might end up doing 1 yr general surgery at one place, and the rest of neuro somewhere else), so, even if you don't match to neuro anywhere, hopefully you matched to a general surgery prelim, and i think you could apply again. if you still dont match, then you are in a tight spot.

alternatively, i've heard of students applying to multiple specialties simultaneously, but that's rare.