How Pharmacits pick up extra shifts (overtime) CVS/WALGREENS

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Future Pharmacist

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am still a pharmacy student and I need to understand how a pharmacist at CVS or Walgreens pick up open shifts in his store or other stores to collect extra hours. is it the pharmacist choice to choose the shifts or is it assigned to him by someone else?

FOR EXAMPLE: if a pharmacist who works full-time 40 hours a week and he needs the money for whatever reason (loans, mortgage....etc) and want to work 60 hours a week:
  1. can the pharmacist log in to a specific database or something and pick up open shifts in other stores?
  2. and if yes is there any restrictions for how many hours the pharmacist can pick up?
  3. or how many miles away the store should be?

I hope to find some reliable answers from pharmacists at CVS and Walgreens in this matter. Thank you.

Members don't see this ad.

You can work as much as they need and as much as you are willing to (often more). I get emails like the following every 2-4 weeks (locations removed so you can't find me :wacky:...but they're all less than an hour from each other):

Below is a list of the open shifts for the region for the next few days, as you can see there are many. We’re hoping you could send the list to your Rph’s and ask for their help. Thanks much!!!!

Thursday, June 26, 2014

1:00

PM

10:00

PM

Thursday, June 26, 2014

6:00

PM

PM

Friday, June 27, 2014

3:00

PM

PM

Friday, June 27, 2014

12:00

PM

PM

Friday, June 27, 2014

9:00

AM

PM

Friday, June 27, 2014

8:00

AM

4:00

PM

Friday, June 27, 2014

2:00

PM

PM

Friday, June 27, 2014

AM

2:00

PM

Friday, June 27, 2014

PM

PM

Friday, June 27, 2014

AM

PM

Friday, June 27, 2014

AM

4:00

PM

Friday, June 27, 2014

11:00

AM

PM

Saturday, June 28, 2014

12:00

PM

PM

Saturday, June 28, 2014

AM

PM

Saturday, June 28, 2014

AM