How should I do this?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Hopefultexan92

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am not sure how I was to proceed with making myself competitive for medical schools. I thought that I had made a plan to negate some of my shortcoming, but the more I read the more questionable my plan looks.
  • So, where to start. rifht now I have an abysmaly low gpa. Not sure of the exact number but I would say below a 2.0. What I see as someone good new is that this was in an economics major. I graduated school a year early and went to a small private school. I was no where near mature enough for school. Did very well in courses I enjoyed and very poorly in course I hated. I transfer/ flunked out of the school and went to a state school. Here I took my only science courses basic chemistry which I loved and got an A and pre-calculus which I flunked. I decided college was not right for me at this point so I joined the Air Force. I'm very successful in my job and was outstanding during training but I don't feel very satisfied with what I do and how I left my education. So now that I have really centered myself and come up with goals I would like to become a doctor for various reason.
  • Here was my plan but I'm not sure that it would work. I wanted to go back to school and finish up my economics degree. I know I can do very well with the rest of my course work. I am bright and now I have the motivation of a clear goal. Plus more effective study techniques. And maybe the most important the reality of paying off student loans (This is really is disheartening when you have nothing to show for it)
  • One I finish up that degree I want to apply to a larger state school and work on a science major to complete course work to apply for med schools. But also go through a complete program without any hiccups so I can have more continuity in my education when I apply