How should I improve?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

birdboybird

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
If I plan to apply this upcoming cycle....How should I improve my chances ?
- I am a traditional student. I plan on taking my MCAT early July

3.6 GPA
BIO major

Extra-circulars--
ROTC cadet ( various ROTC leadership roles )

100 hours of hospital volunteering
50 hours of shadowing at an air force base
100 hours of volunteering for hunger and homeless issues.

2 years active member of a sports club
1 year as vice president
Both years I did very well

Was a retreat leader for a leadership organization.

...So that basically my entire application. I would appreciate some smart person telling me what looks weak, and what looks good! thank you SDN!

Members don't see this ad.

If you are a senior, too late to do research. If you are a junior, you are just missing research.
Aim for a +27 on the MCAT and you should be good granted you're normal. You seem normal lol

Everything looks great. I would just continue to do what you have been doing. Study well for the MCAT and take it early enough so that you have time to retake it if needed. And, APPLY EARLY.

Also, correct me if I'm wrong, but doesn't being in ROTC create another hurdle for you? I could be entirely wrong, but if you have a service obligation I thought your respective branch had to grant you authorization to go to medical school. I know for the academies that there are only a certain number of slots for individuals they let pursue graduate school.

In any case, good luck!

Members don't see this ad :)
Everything looks great. I would just continue to do what you have been doing. Study well for the MCAT and take it early enough so that you have time to retake it if needed. And, APPLY EARLY.
apply early even if no mcat?

apply early even if no mcat?
If he starts studying now, he could be ready to take the MCAT by April - June.