How shud i go about doin pg in usa?

Discussion in 'Kaplan Medical USMLE Forum' started by pepink, Apr 7, 2011.

1. SDN is a nonprofit organization. Services are made possible through the generous support of SDN members and sponsors. Thank you.
  1. pepink

pepink

Medical Student
    I am a medical student in my second year of med school in india.I want to pursue my postgraduate in USA, I have absolutely no idea how to go about this dream, except that i have to write and pass USMLE.Anyone who has been through the same please help me in these spheres:
    1)What should i study for USMLE PART 1?
    2)Should i write part 1 before 3rd year?
    3)What books should i read for part 1?
    4)Can i get a PG in research in the USA?
    5)How will i know where to apply to write the exam?
    If anyoone out there has been through goin to USA for PG after having done their MBBS IN INDIA, Please help me, Your help will be tremendously appreciated.
    From sumone who desperately needs guidance.
  2. KaplanEmily

KaplanEmily Exhibitor

Non-Student
    SDN Sponsor SDN Exhibitor SDN 2+ Year Member
    Hello pepink!

Assuming your ultimate goal is to practice medicine in the US, the process is relatively simple, especially if you plan ahead and make a reasonable schedule for yourself. First, check out the ecfmg.org website. ECFMG will be your 'designated dean'.

http://ecfmg.org/

You should also check out the USMLE website:

http://usmle.org/

If you would like to explore the idea of using Kaplan resources, visit The Chopras website. They will help guide you through the process, including visas. You will find a supportive community there, and meet many students who are going through the same process.

http://www.thechopras.com/kaplan_contact.php

We can send you free study tips and other info/guidance anytime. Please send a PM or write to [email protected].

Your questions:

1)What should i study for USMLE PART 1? See the USMLE website for the content descriptions