How soon is too soon to start applying for jobs?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

BPW1088

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
So, I'll be graduating with my master's in public health in December 2015. With that said, I'm very eager to get the ball rolling on the 'job hunt' process, and hope to secure a position well before my degree is conferred to me.

This is not my first rodeo. I've held many full time, permanent jobs prior to graduate school, and am hoping to obtain a mid-level to manager level position. I've already begun exhausting job boards, connecting and building relationships with alumni from my program and firms that I would like to gain employment with after graduate school, and have even gone as far as applying to numerous positions and setting up informational interviews. The process has been slower than I had anticipated, so I was just wondering how far in advance will employers begin reviewing your materials and consider hiring you if you're the right person for the job? I should say that most of my interest lies in the private sector, i.e. working for government contractor firms and management consulting firms that contract out to CDC, NIH, DHHS, etc.

Members don't see this ad.

As someone who just graduated in May 2015 and was lucky enough to have a job lined up before I graduated, I would suggest starting at least 3 months before you graduate. Based on the experiences of my cohort, those that waited late to start the job search (i.e., just before or after graduation) struggled to find jobs right away and some are still looking.

The actual hiring process can take a while as well, which is why 2-3 months ahead isn't necessarily a long time. Plus, if you really are the right person for the job, most employers are willing to wait for a short period of time until you can come on.

Good luck!

Reactions: 1 user