How to do well in Prereqs for Nonscience nontrads?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

notrack

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm a nontraditional student who majored in Political Science. Currently, I'm using my time to prep for my prereqs, which I plan to take next January. I want to pick up some good study habits in the meantime. How did some of you nonscience majors do really well in your premed coursework? How did you do relatively well on the MCAT?

Members don't see this ad.

Work more problems than are assigned. Work all the problems.

Reactions: 3 users
Read the textbook, go to office hours, do all assigned problems and then some, go to office hours, look things up online, go to office hours, go to the schools tutoring service, ask myself "what if..." analysis questions about the material, go to office hours...rinse and repeat. Also, commit everything to your long-term memory (via constant, repeated studying). Don't do what the trad kids are doing (cram and purge).
Once I got past the first semester or two this way, the rest was cake. It all builds and if you remember what you learned last semester or last year instead of relearning the same material for every class, then you'll be solid once you get your feet under you.

Members don't see this ad :)
1. Watch these videos for whatever you are studying in class: http://www.freelance-teacher.com/videos.htm
2. Ace every test.