how to get a research assistant position?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

kendrick lamar

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm a non-MD student but didn't know where to post this specific question on this forum, but decided to post it here as I notice there are many MD who do research or have done it during their pre-med years.

I just graduated with a PharmD from a 0-6, out of high school program and unfortunately my pharmacy program did not have an emphasis on doing research. As a result, I've never had research experience during school, nor really considered it until this year. I'm taking a break right now from finding a pharmacist job and am interested in doing research as an assistant in the city I'll be staying in, where there's a huge academic center/teaching hospital. There were three research assistant positions I applied to from their careers website and about 5 different people I've e-mailed from a faculty/researchers website. I only heard back from two people (who say they don't have positions), but am not sure if there is a better way to search/apply for research assistant positions. I am interested in mostly clinical research and public health research and would work even outside of the scope of simply pharmacotherapy and drugs (I have a strong interest in disease pathophysiology as well). I've sat in an intern conference during one of my rotations and a physician scientist there also was really open to students of different disciplines participating in their research programs as well. Any insight on how to assist in research, how to get in touch with faculty, researchers etc. would be incredibly helpful. Feel free to DM me as well, if you might be able to provide specific help.
Thanks!

Members don't see this ad.