How to get vet experience while working full time

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Lavender223

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am interested in going to vet school but I don't even know where to start any more I have had a couple of set backs but for starters, I have a bachelor degree in Lab animal science from NCA&T and I am currently pursuing a master in animal science at NCSU online. After I graduated from undergrad I was able to secure a full time job at Duke University in their animal resource unit taking care of lab animals such as mice, rats, guinea pigs the pay is good since I have bills rent etc... and I am trying to pay some of my student loans down. I do not have very much vet experience but I have volunteer under a large mobile vet a couple times but it wasn't consistence and. I do not have experience in actual vet clinics when I was looking to volunteer most claim it was a liability issue, also must clinics do not stay open long so I would have to volunteer on the weekends. Which can also pose a problem because most don't stay open for long. I don't know else to do but I don't think I ready to just give up just yet. My backup plan was to become a pathologist assistant, but I want to be a veterinarian pathologist if at all possible. Any advice is welcome. Thanks.

Members don't see this ad.

Shelters may be your best bet. They don't usually have the liability issues that private practices do.

Is there a vet overseeing medical care for the lab animals that you are working with? I'm not super familiar with how lab animal medicine works, but that might be someone you would want to get in contact with. You could also ask around to see about shadowing rather than asking to be a volunteer. It's less hands on and exciting, but it puts less pressure and liability on the place you're shadowing at.

Reactions: 1 user