How to list GPA when retaking courses

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

stephrp

B.S. Biology & Wildlife Conservation c/o 2018
7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm graduating in May, but will be taking additional science courses in the fall to boost my overall GPA and science GPA as well as retaking a course I got a C- in. I'm trying to find out how I would list that on resumes and in vet school applications? Especially on resumes. If I graduated with a 3.5 but after the fall received a 3.6, do I list it as a 3.6?? It sounds ridiculous but no one at my actual college has any idea.

Members don't see this ad.

Call the school that you are applying to and ask them. For resumés you usually just average all the courses (you don't drop the previous course)

I'm graduating in May, but will be taking additional science courses in the fall to boost my overall GPA and science GPA as well as retaking a course I got a C- in. I'm trying to find out how I would list that on resumes and in vet school applications? Especially on resumes. If I graduated with a 3.5 but after the fall received a 3.6, do I list it as a 3.6?? It sounds ridiculous but no one at my actual college has any idea.

If you're applying on VMCAS, you have to list both times you took the class. You designate the class as "repeated" when you enter it the second time.

I wouldn't put GPA on a resume unless it was exceptionally high. It doesn't really say anything about what transferable skills you have, which is what hiring managers want to know. If you graduated with Latin honors, you could put that on there without getting into the exact number.

Don't ever put GPA on a job resume. If a hiring manager wants to know your GPA, they will ask. Most jobs don't give a hoot as to what your GPA is.