How to Prepare for PCAT as a First Year Pre-Pharmacy Student

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

jup09002

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm a first year pre-pharmacy student and was just wondering how I should start preparing for PCAT. I want to get started early so that I will feel much prepared for the test. What prep books should I use? What are some good strategies? I also heard that Dr. Collin's self-study guide is really helpful. Is it true? I would much appreciate it if you could, please, provide me with some feedbacks.

Members don't see this ad.

I agree with that advice. If you don't have a strong vocabulary or reading comprehension skills, you have plenty of time to improve that now. Read science magazines or start working on vocabulary flash cards in your spare time. If you know that some math that you won't see again gives you trouble, start practicing now. Try borrowing a text book or buy one of those guidebooks like Schaums. But don't let any of that interfere with your classes. Don't study enough so you can pass the next exam but study so you can remember the material months or years from now. You are building the foundation for pharmacy school now so the better you do, the easier it will be down the road.

Members don't see this ad :)
This is what I have:

Kaplan sci/verbal/quant + flashcards
CliffsTestPrep (ebay 5$ brand new =D )
McGrawHill's PCAT
Examkrackers

Got them all from my friend except for cliffs

I'm a first year pre-pharmacy student and was just wondering how I should start preparing for PCAT. I want to get started early so that I will feel much prepared for the test. What prep books should I use? What are some good strategies? I also heard that Dr. Collin's self-study guide is really helpful. Is it true? I would much appreciate it if you could, please, provide me with some feedbacks.