How to work as a dermatologist in the US? HELP ME PLEEEEEEEASE!

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Becky.derm

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Good evening everyone,

I am so very desperate right now, I need serious advice from you, rs.. I am a 26 year old medical student, going to graduate by the end of this year. To be a dermatologist is what I've been dreaming of in the last few years..Getting into medical school here in Brazil is not easy - you've got to pass a really, really competitive exam. Fortunatelly, I'm proud to say that I'm graduating from one of Brazil's best medical schools. Also, in order to be a dermatologist here, you need to pass another very difficult exam. So, this year, I'm studying to get trought it and be able to start my dermatology residency next year. The thing is, I am an american citizen and I am desperate to go back to the US! But I've lived in Brazil for most part of my life (as you can probably see, not even my english is that good anymore) and I didn't take the USMLE steps yet. What I want to know is..

1) Do I REALLY need to take all the USMLE steps in order to work as a dermatologist in the US?
2) If I pass the USMLE and get me certification, do I still need to do all my residency in the US in order to work there as a derm? Or will my brazilian residency be enough?
3) How possible is it, really?

Any advices?? Please, it would help me sooo much..

Members don't see this ad.

You need to complete the USMLE and an ACGME derm residency to practice derm in the US. You might be able to get a residency in the US, but you will certainly not get a derm residency, as it is currently one of the most competitive residencies in the match.