HPSP 1099-Misc 2013 Tax Year

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Dnizzler

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi,

I am an army HPSP medical student. My question is regarding a 1099-Misc for tax year 2013 issued from DFAS. I never was mailed one and filled my 2013 taxes with just my W-2 like I always have been doing while on HPSP. I just received a letter from the IRS stating that they have a reported income from DFAS on a 1099-Misc for 2013 that I didn't report on my 1040 and that I owe taxes on that 1099 income now. Was this a big mistake that they issued us all 1099-misc in 2013?? Do we really owe taxes on that? I presume it is for education expenses reimbursement items. I haven't gotten any previous 1099-misc forms any of the previous years on my scholarship. What should I do about this and who should I contact? I see that people have posted about this last year when they were first issued, does anyone know what ever came about with this issue?

Thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

I don't recall getting a 1099-MISC, but that was years ago and things have changed since then. I would absolutely call DFAS to ask about it. Be prepared to sit on hold for 40 minutes. Do you know if you have access to MYPAY?

I don't know enough about HPSP to answer all your questions, but I don't think DFAS has been mailing out tax forms for years now. I think it's just expected that you access and print them via MyPay. Did they mail your W2?

Members don't see this ad :)
I only have access to my W-2 on my pay website. From what I am gathering it looks like it was issued in error to some HPSP students for 2013 tax year. I believe the 1099-misc must have been sent to an old address. I got my W-2 electronically.

Hey Dnizzler I made a post on your profile. Please respond at your earliest convenience.