All Branch Topic (ABT) HPSP Peds Help

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

chaseschertz

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi, I'm new to sdn, but have been reviewing forum posts about HPSP for the last couple of days. I am a senior in college, and have been recently accepted into medical school. I don't have a lot of money, and it worries me to even think if I will be comfortable in med school. Recently, I discovered this HPSP scholarship and no, I don't necessarily want to do it for the money. I've always had an appreciation for all branches of the military, and have family members who have been in the military, and I love this country. I think this would be an amazing experience- to have med school paid for, be paid the stipends every month, have the opportunity to travel to Germany, Italy, South Korea, or any place in between etc etc and to serve my country. The majority of my questions have been answered through other threads, but I just wanted to know the perspective of someone who received the HPSP and wanted to go into pediatrics. How is this different? Thanks - all information is helpful.

Members don't see this ad.

Its different because pediatrics is a noncompetitive residency in the real world and quite a competitive residency in the military. Peds subspecialties are particularly competitive and training quotas are unpredictable and can be deferred rather than FTOS. There is risk that they will stop training all together.