HPSP residencies a good idea post DO/MD residency merger>

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

kp11

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello SDN,

I am already considering a Navy HPSP scholarship to help pay for my school (very expensive private school), and I'm trying to get a full picture of the risks and benefits post graduating from medical school

After the DO/MD residency merger, MD's will now be able to match into previously only AOA residencies. This means that some of the more competitive DO residency spots (I'm thinking ER or Surgery) will inevitably be taken by MDs. Will also having Navy residencies open to me make any statistical improvement in my odds of getting into a more competitive specialty?

Thanks,
KP11
MS-1

Members don't see this ad.

I'm not an expert here, but if you're HPSP then you will most likely be doing the military match and the merger won't apply to you.

Reactions: 2 users
I'm not an expert here, but if you're HPSP then you will most likely be doing the military match and the merger won't apply to you.

from what I gather, you can do both civilian and navy residencies. I just have no idea if adding those military residencies to my list of options gives me any increased advantage for residency.

Members don't see this ad :)
My understanding is that you can't apply for both and you should assume civilian match won't be an option, as in its difficult to default to the civilian match even though it's a "possibility."

from what I gather, you can do both civilian and navy residencies. I just have no idea if adding those military residencies to my list of options gives me any increased advantage for residency.

hpsp recipients are required to go through the military match.. they may apply for a civilian spot only as a fallback option if the military can't find a spot for them