I am confused

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

reluctantoptimism

Shrews and Trucks
7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I do not know what I should do in order to apply to medical school in a timely manner. I'm studying chemistry, doing research, e.c.s, etc but I feel that it will take me too long to finish a chemistry b.s. In examining my schools curricula, it seems that if I switch to a biology major, I could finish more quickly but I don't know how this will be perceived. I'm at a point in my life where I ready for undergrad to be over so I can move to my more pressing goals and pursuing a chemistry degree appears to have been a misstep given my present goals.

In actuality, I just feel uncertain about everything right now. Whose to say that I will finish my degree will a good GPA (about 3.7 now) and,even after all my effort, be accepted to med school?

I just need some kind of advice

Members don't see this ad.

Members don't see this ad :)
Switch majors if you can do it without extending undergrad and have no intention of ever using a chemistry degree should you not gain admittance to medical school. No one cares why you switched majors, or when.

Reactions: 3 users
Thanks Jack!

I was doing some unique chemistry research so I'll see an adviser next week and try to determine how pragmatic it would be to switch majors.

I know this is somewhat of a tangent, but I'd intended to apply next year and I qualify for FAP (i.e. I can apply to 15 schools for a reduced fee) and I don't even know how to begin determining where to apply (aside from using the MSAR). I'm a Florida resident so I was going to apply to all of my state schools (7) but that leaves me with 8 choices; anyone have any insight?

Once again, thank you Jack.

Graduating with a BS in Chemistry will give you no advantage whatsoever. A more "convenient" degree will be a better choice for you.