I have a few questions about med school

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Chris127

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am a pre med student, and have been thinking about med school for quite some time. I've been skimming through a few of these threads looking for just some random info, and by doing so I now have a few questions...

1) For all you MSIII and MSIV, you cant possibly remember all the bookwork and material you acquired in your first two years? I mean, there is apparantly so much that shortly thereafter you forget most of it, right?

2) I hear a lot of you mentioning things like "small group discussions." What are these exactly? Do you work on labs together, etc? How often do these occur and are they madatory to attend?

3) I have never been a decent public speaker, so is there a lot of public speaking in med school? Are you required to get in front of a large crowd and present info or material a lot? Because if there is, then I should probably enroll in some public speaking courses while I still can to help me in this field, but if its not necessary, then I dont want to waste my time with it.

4) The USMLE. I did some research on this, but still have a few questions. This test is taken after your sophomore and senoir year in med school? And this score dictates what kind of residency you can get into? Surely if you dont do well you have another opportunity to make it up? I cant imagine one test score could limit you on what specific field of medicene you could go in to, talk about pressure :(

Thanks for any legitimate and helpful responses

Members don't see this ad.

Chris127 said:
I am a pre med student, and have been thinking about med school for quite some time. I've been skimming through a few of these threads looking for just some random info, and by doing so I now have a few questions...