I have no idea what I should do

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

mitchjp1997

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey guys,
I'm currently a rising sophomore and I've already taken the PCAT, have pharmacy experience, and a GPA all of which would likely get me admitted to a decent pharmacy school. However, I've read so many negative posts on here about the job market, getting treated like crap, etc which has prompted me to think about other careers. I've already gotten 3 rec letters from professors and I have ECs of which almost all pertain to pharmacy. With all being said, do you guys think that switching to dentistry would be the right decision, even though it will likely cost me 2+ more years? I'm so stressed about this situation, please someone offer your insight. Thanks guys :)

Members don't see this ad.

Google "dentist saturation" and bow ye head in despair.

There is no escape from Kralizec, the Typhoon Struggle at the end of the Zombie Central Banker Bubble. Counterfeit credit has nuked nearly every field and those not touched will eventually.

Sorry but there is no such thing as a decent pharmacy school, it doesn't matter which school you go to. Everyone ends up in the same retail job. Work experience, PCAT, extracurricular, recommendation letters don't really matter. These schools take anybody these days, kids in the pre-pharmacy forums with Cs and Ds in undergrad courses get into pharmacy school and become pharmacists. Then they become co-workers with people who went to the "top" pharmacy schools.

Yes, dentistry is a better choice. At least you can open your own practice without competition from CVS/Wags.

Members don't see this ad :)
A few things to consider: