PhD/PsyD I love psych, but I want money..

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Hi everyone, I'm currently a freshman psych BA major (probably going to change to BS), and I changed to psych from bio because I actually have a great interest in the field. The psych classes I've taken have been the only ones that genuinely excited me and made me want to learn more.

My goal is to get a PsyD degree, but I'm unsure of what I want to specialize in exactly. The main question I have is regarding salaries. Everywhere I've looked online, I've seen drastically different salary information for the same fields (for example, one website states engineering psych average salary is $179k, another states it's only about $70k).

Is it a realistic expectation to make at least $100k with a PsyD within the first 5 years of practice?

Thank you!

Members don't see this ad.

Salaries vary (as with many degrees) depending on where you work (e.g., university, academic medical center, private practice) and what role you occupy (e.g., tenured professor, lead researcher, full-time clinician) and while I would definitely not advise going into a field strictly for the money... I understand that is priority for some. You have to remember that if you are going to a (most likely) unfunded PsyD program, you are going to (most likely) take our student loans with interest for 4+ years. Factor in internship year and potential post doc training and it can be quite a while before you start earning a full fledged salary; you'll have to start somewhere and pay back those loans. I am attending a funded PhD program but nevertheless, money is not led me to this field.