MD & DO I need some guidance (What are my Chances)

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

K1N6

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello.

A bit about my current situation: I graduated back in May 2014. I am a transfer student and completed my degree in Biology (neurobiology and physiology specialty) at a 4-year institution. Upon transfering I was off to a bumpy start, but I got straight A's the last 3 semesters up until graduation and it brought my GPA up considerably. Thereafter I went to go work as a TA at Trinity University in Texas and came back to take my MCAT (27 first time, 31 this past January). I currently work as a Lab Tech.

Here's a brief rundown of my stats (I copied someone's layout and used it as a template, sorry!!)
cGPA: ~3.5
sGPA: ~3.5
MCAT: 31
LORs: Strong (hopefully!)
Volunteering: Food Drive Volunteer, Boys and Girls Club Volunteer
Clinical: 250 hours of volunteering in a hospital (in the Emergency, Discharge, and Surgery Department), Shadowed 3 Doctors (1 family practice, and two ENT (because the facial anatomy is obscure and very cool!) but I want to go into primary care (Internal Medicine).
PS: Talks about how my past, my experiences, and my motivations. It's a bit superficial in the sense that I don't really give in-depth examples but rather just talk about the impact the experience had on me.
EC's: Powerlifter, Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society Alumni, TA experiences in Biometrics, Physiology Lab, Endocrinology, and Immunology.
Research: It's OK. I've just been working as a Lab Tech for about 4 months now and I do a lot of administrative tasks and surgeries.

So what I wanted to know was what schools I should try to apply for. This is the current list I've made (feel free to critique):

1) University of Maryland, SOM (MD) (In- state)
2) Albany Medical College
3) Drexel University College of Medicine
4) Eastern Virginia Medical School