I need some serious advices

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

hanah02

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Ok,

so i graduated from uni 2 years ago, and I majored in econ and did pre-pharm (if such thing exist). During uni, I completed all the required courses needed for pharmacy school however, i did not do so great.

Now that two years have passed, I would like to pursue pharmacy career again, but I am afraid that it will be useless now that I've already completed pre-pharm courses.

i just wish that i can restart everything. Is there still a chance for me to pursue pharmacy if i decide to do post bac and retake all my science classes?
I need some honest opinions please

Members don't see this ad.

How bad are your GPA and prereq grades? Generally, you want to retake the C- and below grades and move upward. You probably don't need to retake Bs and up as dealing with Cs and below could help enough.

PharmCAS will account for both grades, but there will be at least distinction between bacc and post-bacc. Schools could see that as two different people where the most recent one is a better student.

Give it a shot, doesn't hurt to apply. And remember, grades are only one component of a health profession candidate. There are many schools out there who seriously take into considerations of your extracurriculars, personal statement, and valuable insights. I would not go to a doctor/pharmacist who just has good grades (even in med/pharm school). Let's just say I know exactly how you feel as I was once in your shoes, only I learned that never say no to yourself, let the committee makes the decision.

Members don't see this ad :)
Is it really worth retaking B's? I'm sure there are many accepted pharm students that received a mix of A's and B's, because based on average GPA acceptance pools they range from 3.3-3.6 so straight A's are not evident.