I need someone to tell me it's going to be OK.

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Interest

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
So, I'm currently a sophomore in undergrad with a pretty terrible 3 semesters under my belt.

I came into university wanting to be a doctor, but applied to the engineering school on a whim. Ended up getting in, hating it, transferring to computer science, again hating it, all the while doing pretty terribly in my classes. I went to a Health Careers-oriented high school. I have experience with doctors, hospitals, medical procedures and I know that I have a passion for medicine, but I'm terrified about my ability to make a comeback and get into medical school.

While I did have a significant medical issue during my first semester and suffered pretty heavy depression up until fairly recently, the main reason I've done so poorly in my classes is general laziness and apathy. I'm worried that even if I'm able to bring my GPA back from its disastrous state, I won't be able to adequately explain my first three semesters in a med school interview without saying that I was lazy and unmotivated. I have no good excuse for it.

The good news is that I haven't taken any premed courses, so while my overall GPA is hurting, my science-specific GPA hasn't really been created yet. I know that I have the ability to perform in my classes, it's just down to finding the motivation.

My GPA after this semester will be about a 2.1. That's with 36 hours of coursework. I've figured that straight As from here to the end of my college career (100 hours with a 4.0) can bring my GPA up to around a 3.5 maximum. I know how unlikely that is, especially since my university grades on a +/- scale (which seems like it can only hurt students that strive for straight As), but I'm committed to trying.