I'm considering pain medicine, but...

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Leo Aquarius

Anxiety.org Schizophrenia.com DepressionHealth.net
10+ Year Member
Reaction score
So I'm a resident who is thinking about expanding my skill set to include pain medicine. But then you read something like this and you're left wondering about doom and gloom:

http://www.painphysicianjournal.com/2014/january/2014;17;E11-E19.pdf

Is the future bright for pain medicine or is it looking troublesome? Thanks for any replies in advance.

Members don't see this ad.

So I'm a resident who is thinking about expanding my skill set to include pain medicine. But then you read something like this and you're left wondering about doom and gloom:

http://www.painphysicianjournal.com/2014/january/2014;17;E11-E19.pdf

Is the future bright for pain medicine or is it looking troublesome? Thanks for any replies in advance.

Yep. Pain Medicine is a great field, but we've let external stakeholders call the tune. If you join this field, you have to anticipate being involved in advocacy work.

I wouldn't be overly concerned. The article's lead author still generated several million dollars in revenue last year

Reactions: 1 user
Members don't see this ad :)
Thus, we welcome 2014, with issues related to SGR (24-26), multiple regulatory burdens of the Affordable Care Act (29), the expected International Classification of Disease (ICD) transition (30,31), exploding Medicaid managed care, expanded Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act (HIPAA) compliance (32), re- imbursement tied to Physician Quality Reporting Sys- tem (PQRS) and outcomes (14,33), multiple LCD issues, meaningful use of electronic medical records (EMRs) (34,35), and highly limited coverage policies from Af- fordable Care enrollees and private insurers (11,36).

Attachments

• 2014;17;E11-E19.pdf
    204.1 KB · Views: 71