I'm no geography expert...(new school humor)

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

297point1

Breaking kayfabe
10+ Year Member
Reaction score
...but isn't Long Island University's pharmacy program located in Brooklyn, which is part of Long Island? The school name certainly suggests as much. And St. John's University- isn't that located in Queens, which is part of...wait for it...Long Island?

Not according to this article in Pharmacy Times:
"Students in Long Island, New York, interested in pursuing a pharmacy degree may soon have a nearby option for pharmacy school.

Recently, the State University of New York Board of Trustees voted to adopt a resolution endorsing Stony Brook University’s efforts to offer a Doctor of Pharmacy degree to students, subject to approval by the New York State Board of Regents, according to a Stony Brook press release. If all goes well, the Stony Brook University School of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences (SPPS) will be founded.

SPPS would be the first pharmacy school on Long Island and would add to the health sciences schools already established at Stony Brook
."

http://www.pharmacytimes.com/careers-news/Stony-Brook-University-Looks-to-Add-Pharmacy-School

Is there a rule that the NYC boroughs don't count as part of Long Island when creating new pharmacy schools? I mean, the 40 miles between St. John's and Stony Brook doesn't sound like much, but when you factor traffic in, clearly it might as well be in a different time zone.

Members don't see this ad.

I am not from NYC - BUT people in Queens and Brooklyn do not consider themselves part of LI, and people from Nassau and Suffolk county do not consider the burrows part of LI. I think it is stupid, but yes, that is how they think

Reactions: 1 user
Members don't see this ad :)