IMG interested in Emergency Medicine

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

mjp0288

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi I am currently a third year student at Ross University and was interested in EM. I recently received my STEP 1 score and got a 235. I was wondering if EM is still an option for me and if so, what more should I do be a competitive applicant? Any suggestions on what electives to take and where to take them? How should I begin preparing for my rotations? I will be at Atlanta Medical Center for my core rotations but will be able to complete my electives anywhere. Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Members don't see this ad.

Just continue to be the best candidate you can be and apply very broadly. Seems like General advice, but the "img bias" is very variable institution to institution. But the ones that don't have a lot of bias will have A LOT of exceptionally high scoring candidates to select from and the ones that do show bias are many and they will want you to really outscored the American applicants. You really won't significantly outscore most applicants with that score (it's quite average, which wouldn't be an issue if biases weren't quite so common).

But if you're consistently the best candidate you can be, your score is not a terrible starting place and a broad application should serve you well.

Yeah, need to echo what DocEspana said. I ran into a couple of people from Ross and St. George on the interview trail and both of them kept saying how surprised they were with how few interview offers they got. I didn't pry too much, but it sounded like they had decent applications so I would definitely agree that there is a significant IMG bias. Translation: apply to craptons of programs.

Members don't see this ad :)