IMG Interested in Neurosurgery

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.
Status
Not open for further replies.

tecoboy

7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am wondering if anyone can give me a heads-up on my chances of getting into a Neurosurgery or ENT residency.

My info: US citizen, student at school in Mexico
Will be going through 5th Pathway next year
USMLE Step 1 Score in mid 230 range
Aiming for 240+ on Step 2
Father-in-law is a neurosurgeon
Have decent LofRecs from surgery & from father-in-law

Does anyone have any encouragement to offer? Any input at all would be greatly appreciated. Considering that I am an IMG/5th Pathway student, I realize that the cards are stacked against me, but I intend to apply anyway since I have nothing to lose and the world to gain.

Members don't see this ad.

There was a guy from Ross who matched into Neurosurg in Arkansas.

You have nice numbers plus have the nepotism card working for you so you should certainly apply.

I know those programs like candidates that have research and/or advanced degrees since they are all into being real scientists.

Your stats put you right in there. A few of my classmates are going for neurosurgery. I dunno what their Step I scores are for 2 of them, but one of the guys told me that a 230 is an approximate cutoff for Step I. So you're ok there.

The one thing that I recommend is for you ingratiate yourself with as well-known a neurosurgeon as you can. From what my classmates say, neurosurg is such a small field that getting a spot depends HEAVILY on your recs, and which well-known neurosurg chairman will pick up the phone for you and dial his buddy at program X and recommend you.