This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

pcpsych

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone,

I'm currently a graduate student in a clinical psychology doctoral program and am torn between the subspecialties of integrated primary care psychology and clinical neuropsychology. I have a genuine interest in both fields. Could anyone give me the pros/cons of working in each setting? Expected salary info for each would especially be appreciated, as it's difficult to parse IPC salaries by setting (e.g., physicians' offices, private hospitals, etc.). By no means is salary the biggest consideration in this decision, but I do believe it is important to choose a career with eyes open nonetheless.

I've perused the past SDN threads and was unable to find a similar thread, but feel free to correct me if I missed something similar. Thanks in advance.

Members don't see this ad.

What do you mean by subspecialty, exactly? Is this something you want to focus your career on, or do as a adjunct to other things?

Sorry for the lack of clarity in my original post; it would be my career focus, ideally.

Members don't see this ad :)
Still need a little more detail, when you think about what you want to do on a day to day basis once you're done with training, what do you envision? Each is a much different career path, with very different day to day responsibilities.

Still need a little more detail, when you think about what you want to do on a day to day basis once you're done with training, what do you envision? Each is a much different career path, with very different day to day responsibilities.

Thanks for the reply! My problem is that I think I could see myself doing either path when I'm finished with training. If you don't mind my asking, what made you choose neuropsych over other career paths?

Well, one path is somewhat longer than the other (internship, 2 year fellowship, board certification for Neuro).