This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

chocolatechip2127

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi,

I am an international premed student studying at University of Ottawa and I plan on applying to medical schools in the next cycle. Right now I am about to begin my fourth semester at university. I started with a few advanced credits so I have 5 (15 credit) semesters left till my graduation but I am planning on taking 21 credits per semester instead so I can graduate in 2 years. I definitely want to apply to medical schools next year but I am worried because I do not have any volunteering or clinical experience and I haven't even begun studying for the MCAT at all. I was planning on doing volunteering this year but with a 21 credit course load per semester I am worried if I'll even have the time to do it. I have a high cGPA and getting good grades (while taking 21 credits per semester) is not a problem for me. Whether or not I will have time to volunteer while studying is what's stressing me out. I can easily squeeze in some hours per week for research so that's okay. Right now, I am choosing my courses for the fall semester so I'd like your advice. I have two options. If you could please tell me which one is better, I would be really grateful.

1) I could either take 21 credits per semester this year and not volunteer much. This way I can save the tuition fee for one semester. Then during the summer of 2017, I will spent my time volunteering, taking part in research, and I would do the MCAT in June 2017. If I do this, I will have completed 81 credits and can possibly apply to medical schools by July.

or