Is an internship the same thing as volunteer? Please Help

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Future PT 12

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Is an internship the same thing as volunteer?

I am currently majoring in Exercise Science at my university. After finishing all of my course work I have to do an internship through my school which will count as 5 credit hours total. I will have to do 375 hours. My adviser told me that us Exercise Science students could do our internship at various Physical Therapy Clinics.

When applying to PT school, I know they look at your hours and knowledge of Physical Therapy with your time spent in clinics.

If I volunteer this summer at a local clinic and do my internship (2 yrs later) will that be the same thing?

I am a little confused on whether or not I need to volunteer a lot or I will be fine with my internship hours when applying to PT scool

Members don't see this ad.

You should be fine for the numbers but remember, the point of the volunteer hours is not to make you jump through hoops, it is to ensure that you know what you are getting into before you apply and are accepted into PT school. They really just are asking that you explore the profession before joining it.

I was in a similar situation. I majored in Exercise Science too and part of my requirements was to do 2 "Experience Credits" of 3 credits each. We had to keep a journal of our experiences and write a paper at the end. The good thing is yes, you're definitely killing two birds with one stone. As long as you're volunteering/shadowing/interning (whatever you'd like to call it) in a PT setting, they count for both! I completed both my experience credits at a PT facility, counted my hours on my application, and was accepted. Although the more hours you have the better, your internship hours are definitely sufficient!

Members don't see this ad :)