Is Anesthesia really that stressful???

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Hope2BnMD

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello all! I am a 3rd yr medical student and have been really leaning toward doing anesthesia. Only thing is, as a 3rd medical student i dont think we really know how stressful the field can get, since we are merely observers in the OR. While on my 3rd yr rotations, I have shadowed some anesthesiologists and everything seems pretty chill. I mean when things go wrong--is the anesthesiologist all alone?? Or can he get help from his colleagues? Does anyone quit the field b/c it gets too stressful?? Unfortunately as medical students we have to make a decision about a field, and really sometimes don't know what we're getting into--until we're 1 yr deep into a residency. I am trying my best to avoid this. thanks folks and congratulations to those who matched!

Members don't see this ad.

The chairman of the department at my med school once said practicing anesthesiology is very easy now, but back when he got started it was "very interesting." He said that with a smirk that suggested stressful as hell! I think how stressed out you get will depend on your personality. A lot of things that I see other interns get stressed about don't bother me at all. Of course, I do get stressed, just about different things. Crashing patients don't stress me out, but getting loaded down with boring admissions and the ensuing paperwork, I do find stressful. Having to call 5 consults in the morning post-call and explain to all these people why then need to do work on my patient, I find stressful. It all depends on the individual.

Hello Hope,