Is AP Calculus AB credit really enough?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

MyTimeToTry

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I see that for most schools in NYS (where I will mostly be applying) 1 year of math is needed including statistics. I received a 5 on AP Calculus AB and my advisor is telling me that I have satisfied the requirement in terms of taking one semester of Calculus. However, I am unsure if I should take Calculus 1 or Calculus 2 or maybe both despite what she is saying (I am a little skeptical as to whether medical schools would accept the AP credit). To be honest, I cannot email or contact the schools because I am an incoming freshman and I have no idea which schools I will be applying to yet. I just want to be safe and be able to apply broadly / to **most** schools.

I signed up for 13 credits of classes for my freshman year fall term as of now:
-Chemistry (5 credits)
-Biology (4 credits)
-Core class (4 credits)

I was debating whether or not to add a Calculus class and if not Calculus a random core. My college is academically challenging (top 40), so maybe I should ease into things though?

By the way, I have done my research but to be honest I am so confused despite my advisor's assistance and I read all the other threads and there's so many people giving so many different answers.

Thank you!

Members don't see this ad.

Have you taken/are you planning on taking a stats class? If not, then you should definitely take that or calc ii in addition to your AB credit. Personally, I would strongly suggest Calc ii. You learn some really cool things!

Just keep in mind that this is coming from a math major going into her second year of college.

In all seriousness, though, if I am correct, most med schools require at least two semesters of math.