Is community college a bad thing?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

nixietink

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone! I am new here and planning on (eventually) going to PT school. I didn't really decide until recently and I am a senior in my undergrad.

My major is psychology and I have only completed a year of biology in regards to pre-reqs/sciences. I was planning on graduating and taking the rest of my pre-reqs at community college, due to cost. I'm looking at applying to schools in CA, Nevada, and maybe Oregon or Washington.

Most schools do accept classes taken at community college, but some do recommend they be taken at a university.

Am I going to be at a huge disadvantage for taking most of my pre-reqs at community college?

Members don't see this ad.

I dont know for sure, but in my opinion I dont think it's hurt me thus far.

I took Bio 1&2, Chem 1&2 all with labs, also stats, pre-calc, gen psych, and developmental psych at CC.

All others I took at a university.

you sound identical to me...I didn't decide until October of my senior year, and as a communications/dance major and psych minor, I didn't really have any prereqs (aside from psych and stats courses).

I took anatomy at my university, but the way the science courses were set up, you could only take chem/Physics/Bio I in the fall (there was no option to start those classes any other semester). I started taking physics I at a community college in the spring while I was finishing my degree at the university.

I then took the rest of the prereqs at the community college level: Calc, Chem I & II, Physics I & II, Bio I & II, one 2 credit hour physiology class (did another 2 credit hour phys class at my former university as an independent study since they didn't offer it, and used those two classes to meet the 4 hour requirement).