Is it worth it? Need some advice

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

BobbyWalters

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I apologize in advance for posting this, because I have found snippets of my situation on several different threads, but it seems my exact "I'm-screwed-ness" is unique.

I am a late bloomer in life, and only recently did I even start to consider the possibility of a career in medicine. I just turned 28, so what have I been doing all these years? I graduated in '09 with a Plant Biology degree, 2.51 cGPA (got in with the wrong crowd early that fed my poor study habits with late night parties, etc). I worked in a greenhouse/research lab for about 3 years, all throughout undergrad, and upon graduating decided I wasn't ready to have a career and become an adult. I left the field entirely and relocated to a Buddhist urban monastery to get my mind straight, since I lacked any sense of direction and wanted to find out what I should do with my life. Two years later, I had to leave, since I had become so entangled in the politics and administration there that I was no longer meditating and progressing with my goal of self-discovery. The help had clearly become a hindrance, and all I had gained was a vague notion to return to school, sober and with a new purpose: to redeem myself and see how well I could actually do. This was back in 2012. I picked a 2nd Bachelor's program in Biochemistry, because I have to virtually retake every science course, and a vague backup plan was to get a MS in Biochem. First semester was a 3.73, with only 1 B+ in Calculus I, damnit. Not a 4.0 with only General Bio I and II and Calc killed my confidence. I still did not have strong study habits and was half-assing. Things then took a turn for the worse. Next sem I failed Orgo I and withdrew from all other classes, which I had then split with a local CC. Fast Forward now 2 years later now to the present, I am struggling to