Is med school still feasible? Advice appreciated

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Lexxa525

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi! I would like some advice on whether medical school is still feasible or if I should really consider another route, sorry if it's long winded. I have always been interested in working internationally, Doctors without Borders in particular always captivated me since I was a kid. I had a lot of familial problems and come from a poor socio-economic background and to be honest I slacked off a lot in high school although I took a lot of AP, gifted and IB courses. I graduated Magna Cum Laude due to an inflated gpa, but without this inflation, it was a mere 2.83. When I went to a university, I fared no better, I wasn't encouraged to study pre-med. I always have excelled in the sciences and humanities despite being a slacker but decided my freshman year to pursue a degree in the fine arts. I love art, am talented but I was plagued thereafter that I wasn't meeting my full potential. I spent a lot of time trying to figure out what to study, who I was, I've traveled more and worked a variety of jobs. I did not excel in college, I ended up changing majors three times, all of them unrelated to my deep desire to pursue medicine. I took classes in so many different areas and would not commit myself continually thinking "what if", so by my junior year, I was academically dismissed from my university with a 1.89 gpa and enrolled in a community college. While there I obtained a 3.5 my first semester, sought out professional guidance and counseling and after another semester of being at a loss, I have applied and was accepted into a new university to pursue a degree in biology. I reconciled myself due to my poor academic history of 4 years of failures and withdrawals, to hopefully finish a B.S in Bio and then a M.S to be a P.A. The closest I can become to working in medicine to the capacity