Is PharmD a Phd?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

benyben

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello again.

I am not too familiar with the US educational degree system, so I am trying to figure out:

Is a PharmD a Phd?

This is what I am getting at: as an International Student, i simply cannot allow myself to peruse an academic path that isn't acknowledged (or equivalent) to the known-degree system (meaning - the regular path of getting a Baccalaureate, followed by a Masters, followed by a doctor of Philosophy [PhD] ). And so, I am trying to figure out if graduating from an institution such as University of Nevada (3 year program) is the same as having a Phd, or not.

Sorry if I complicated things.

Thank you

Members don't see this ad.

Hello again.

I am not too familiar with the US educational degree system, so I am trying to figure out:

Is a PharmD a Phd?

This is what I am getting at: as an International Student, i simply cannot allow myself to peruse an academic path that isn't acknowledged (or equivalent) to the known-degree system (meaning - the regular path of getting a Baccalaureate, followed by a Masters, followed by a doctor of Philosophy [PhD] ). And so, I am trying to figure out if graduating from an institution such as University of Nevada (3 year program) is the same as having a Phd, or not.

Sorry if I complicated things.

Thank you

No.

PharmD = Doctor of Pharmacy

PhD = Doctor of Philosophy

a PhD is a Doctor of Philosophy degree as you have stated and a PharmD is a Doctor of Pharmacy degree. They are not the same, although I would say equally prestigous. If you want to practice pharmacy get a PharmD, but if you want to do research get a PhD in pharmacology or something. With either degree you can be called a doctor.

Members don't see this ad :)
PhD is more research based (you defend a thesis)

PharmD is more clinical based (you go on clinical rotations)