Is Podiatry still a viable option ?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Mapper

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone, I'm new to this forum ( been visiting for a while though). I am having new doubts about podiatry school and I'm hoping you guys can help me out.
Here is my situation:

I recently graduated from a top 10 public university with a bachelors in a field related to computer science. I have options regarding jobs. I can get a job with a starting salary of 50-60k.

I have been interested in the field for several years now. I've been shadowing a Pod for a few years now and the work he does it great ( he is a older guy though). I have not finished my prereqs because it was tough to fit them in with my major. I have 4 prereqs left.

Here is what I'm worried about:

I have been hearing so much negative talk online in different areas about students not getting matched or getting jobs that only pay starting 70k. I feel like that pay would not be worth the debt.

I like the field a lot, but I keep thinking about losing 10 years of money and time only to build up a lot of debt and getting paid very little.

Thanks in advance for the help.

Members don't see this ad.

I don't have much time but here's my 2 cents real fast. If you love medicine and podiatry more, do that. If you love computer science more, do that. You'll have to figure that out yourself. It would suck to pick a job and be unhappy for the rest of your life.

About residencies... It's been the growing consensus that the residency shortage has been resolved/will be resolved in a few years. Also, if you have a decent GPA, pass boards, and act normal, it shouldn't be hard to get a residency position