PhD/PsyD Is the total debt worth it?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

oncounseling

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm an older student still paying off debt from undergrad ($40k balance) and am waiting to hear back from Fordham's counseling psychology program. I feel down because I'm about 10 years older than the cohort and this is my only option, other than waiting a year to re-apply.

Unlike many other phd programs, they don't offer full tuition remission or a living stipend. On interview day, students seemed a bit vague / touchy on the subject of finances, though it was eventually made clear that most of them had part-time jobs as babysitters and tutors.

I also found out that accepted students are offered tuition remission for one class per semester for one year only. That means students have to find a way to pay about $28k + living expenses for the first year of grad school. If loans are taken for the entire program, that is about $126k + addition for living expenses.

For grads who have done it, or have seen others go through this, is it worth it? What is "real life" after graduation like, with this kind of debt, as a psychologist?

Members don't see this ad.

You're looking at 200k+ in debt all said and done, conservatively, especially considering a higher cost of living. That is substantial. There are some repayment options, but they are not as automatic as some would have you think, and they depend on a lot of things (public vs. private loans, whether or not you pay taxes on forgiven portion, etc) and some are limited geographically.

I see colleagues with maybe a quarter of that debt having to make some sacrifices and scrimping here and there.

Reactions: 1 users