Is this significant enough for an update letter to med schools

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

masaraksh

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi SDN,

I am already out of college, I work as a researcher, and I'm applying this cycle. Application got in a little late so its not going as well as I hoped, but I still have a couple interviews scheduled for next year.

Right now I am looking at signing up for evening course(s) at a local University's Continuing Education school. It would start next January. If I sign up, is this something significant that I should update the med schools with? How does it look?

Cheers

Members don't see this ad.

No, it's not something update worthy by itself. No school is going to move you from the waitlist pile to the accept pile because you decided to enroll in evening classes.

At best, this is a small line item that you could mention along with a bunch of other things in a longer, more substantive update.

Reactions: 1 user
So this may be a bit of paradoxical answer (and it's coming from a non-expert, clearly); I don't think it's significant enough, and I would update them.

By itself, I don't think this does much - it's not like you're going to quell their fears about something on your application because you've simply enrolled in classes (it's not like you have a low GPA and are reporting a semester of straight A's); however, you said you applied late, which might send the wrong message to some schools. Thus, perhaps sending an update with a nice introduction stating your seriousness about the school could be helpful.

To be honest, it probably doesn't do anything for or against you, but if you've got the time and desire, why not?

Members don't see this ad :)
Thus, perhaps sending an update with a nice introduction stating your seriousness about the school could be helpful.