Is type of scientific research important for an MSTP program?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Will this affect my chances?

• Total voters

because101

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello,

I'm currently an undergraduate sophomore, dreaming of doing an MSTP program. I am currently working in a lab (paid) and have been doing so since the summer. My PI is fantastic and extremely helpful with letting me understand the workings of basic science research. I already have a project on the works, and have been assured a first author position on the paper. I'm not sure what research I'm interested in, so I decided to join this lab to learn about pathology. The only problem is this: the lab is one that studies veterinary medicine. That being said, we do research on a genus of bacteria that is a zoonosis, so it can still affect humans, but the projects are all animal oriented. So, the research will all be focused on veterinary medicine.

Should I be concerned about this? Will MSTP programs be less likely to accept me because of this?

(My GPA is good so I'm not too worried about that, just the research)

I should also mention, that I do have medical related experience. I have been volunteering at a local hospital, and will have 200+ hours by the time I apply. Don't know if this helps.

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
You need a better dream.

But don't worry, this research will be just fine, as long as you can discuss it intelligently (both in writing and F2F). Especially if you can talk up the potential human implications.

Reactions: 1 user