Is vet school a realistic goal for me?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

spicykimchi

Inactive
10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I will try to make this as brief and un-boring as possible.

I am a college student. Between 2003 and 2004 I failed 6 classes due to health problems and not knowing I could withdraw. I stayed out of school for 5 years while my health recovered. I went back to college in 2009 and since then I have gotten all A's and B's, and I withdrew from a total of two classes.

Other Facts of Note:
-I receive financial aid
-I am 25 years old
-I have no veterinary experience
-I have a fiancè
-I plan to have children

How do these factors affect my ability to mold myself into a competitive applicant, and what must I do to make a veterinary career and a marriage with children compatible?

Be brutally honest and don't be afraid to hurt my feelings.

Members don't see this ad.

Biggest issue to start is actually the no veterinary experience. I am not aware of any school that would accept you without some time spent that qualifies at veterinary experience. They will assume you really have no idea, and are not committed.

And given the academic background (which is certainly not insurmountable), you want the rest of your application to be as strong as possible.

That means while getting that experience you will need to get letters of recommendation (almost always one will have to be from a vet, sometimes more than 1), you will need to take the GRE, and have a great personal statement. Why vet med? Why are you applying if you have no background, etc.

The other factors are pretty irrelevant. Most people need financial aid, 25 is a pretty typical age to attend, family plans, are marital status are also irrelevant.

If you are serious, continue the academic success, start working on your experience, ace the GRE, etc. It is not unrealistic in the future but you need to get to work!