It takes me an hour and a half to get to the CVS I work at, am I being a baby?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Doctor Hue

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi, I've been working at this particular CVS since August. It's the first pharmacy position that I've had and I've learned a lot here. Since I started working I have made the decision to take buses to and from work every time I have a shift. I'm a poor college student whose parents are also poor so I do not have access to a car. I'm going to be 100% honest but by bus it takes me about an hour and a half to get to work. So that means another hour and a half to get back. A total of 3 hours on top of the shift that I work which is usually 6 hours. I work 2 days a week. So that's 12 hours a week plus 6 hours of me waiting for buses and sitting in the bus, 6 hours of time basically being wasted. Anyway, am I being a big baby or if I am not what should I do? My boss was thinking about putting me on for 3 days a week which I have done in the past but now want to refrain from doing so I have more time to keep up with school work. Some may tell me that I should bring notes and study during that hour and a half each trip but I would say half of that time I'm just standing out in the cold waiting so my fingers and brain would be quite frozen for me to process info. I'd say that I spend about 40 minutes on actual buses, the other time is just waiting. Should I still bring notes and review on the buses in this amount of time?

Members don't see this ad.

Take advantage of the bus and do homework/study there.

You wouldn't be able to do that if you were driving.

Good thinking, I brought my notes and I'm on the bus right now. I just got done doing some physio studying, this was a great idea

Members don't see this ad :)