job dilemma

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

ph71

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hoping for some advice on my situation (sorry its going to be long)...

So I took a job offer from one of the major retail chains during my fourth year so I would at least have something waiting for me after graduation. I had no prior experience working in any kind of pharmacy environment until rotations, so I felt thankful and lucky to get a job offer. I started a grad intern while I studied for the boards- they gave me 24hrs/week for 6 weeks to be an intern. I didn't do 24hrs every week so I was able to stretch my grad intern for 8 weeks. This area required me to get licensed in two states- I did not pass my first attempt at the law exam for one state, but just found out yesterday that I passed the law exam for the other state. I have not been working for the past 1.5 weeks because they did not have any more hours to give me as a grad intern and I haven't told them I passed the other law exam yet- mainly because I did not feel well trained at the retail store (so I am kinda freaked out) and I am kinda waiting to hear back from some other positions I applied to I (couple hospital position and a mail order pharmacy position). The hospital positions were in the state I did not pass the law exam in (I am rescheduled to take it next week) and I interviewed with them last week and haven't heard anything back (not sure if its because the interview was so/so or because Im not currently licensed in the state they are in)- but I'm kinda of losing hope on those. So I applied to a mail order pharmacist position (in the state Im licensed in) and they said I could potentially start as early as next week. The mail order position is a 1 month contract with potential to turn into something more permanent.