Job for aspiring medical student

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

ohiowannabedoc

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I graduated with a BS in chemistry about a week ago and failed to get accepted into a med school for this fall. With my chemistry degree I have multiple job offers already (pharmaceutical lab chemist jobs mostly) but have not accepted yet. I still am dead set on medical school and am trying to figure out whether it would be more beneficial to obtain a job in a medical setting (patient technician). So, would it be better for medical school application purposes to work as a chemist or take the job in the hospital as a patient technician? Which will look better on my application for this fall? Additionally, whichever job I choose, I would like to do EMT training in the evenings. Would this be beneficial for the next application cycle? Any advice is appreciated.

Members don't see this ad.

GPA/MCAT?

Take the one that pays more. If it's the lab chemist job then volunteer in a clinical environment.

Reactions: 1 user