KCOM vs. RVU

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

TankTuck

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello, I am new to SDN, and wasn't sure if I should include my inquiry into the previous KCOM vs. RVU thread or create an new one. Anyway, I have been accepted to KCOM, however they do not currently have a seat available (they said April 15th would be the next time seats may open). I was set on KCOM until interviewing at RVU, who I will here from next week. They have been very picky on interview invites and accept 80% of interviewees. I understand that this is my choice to make, but I am looking for some input. Here are my pros and cons of each:

KCOM. Pros: Obviously, being the founding school, its prestige and name are top shelf. Cost of living is near to nothing. I assume the OMM program to be higher quality than RVU (this is an assumption, anyone know more about this?). Being a more established school the match list is superior. I was very intrigued by the ultrasound "living" anatomy. Not as many distractions. On campus gym. Cons: I have almost no idea when I will be offered a seat. Students on previous posts said they received seats in June, starting class in July. Isolated (positive and negative). Not as much to do ( I am very active). Board scores appear to be inferior to RVU. Its not a pressing concern, but I have heard that KCOM is great for married couples, what about being single?