Laborist vs OBGYN

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.
Reaction score
Would anyone like to share their thoughts on the topic of laborists regarding the future of the field of OBGYN? I have searched the forum and couldnt find any topics related to this so i assume I'm not making a duplicate thread here.

Anyway, im still a 2nd year med student, so I havent yet done any OBGYN rotations to figure out if i have that true passion for the field, but i have been trying to learn as much as i can about it since there are many issues surrounding the field these days (malpractice, male vs female, etc). I was interested to see what current obgyns, residents, or other students thought about the laborist position in health care. The obvious "pro" is that it allows a more predictable work schedule and potentially less stressful lifestyle for the practicing OBGYN, which makes sense, since the recent trend in all fields of medicine have been towards lifestyle, and for OBGYN in particular, the rising number of female doctors who want to devote more time to family. The most prominent "con" is the lack of continuity of care, since the Laborist is simply working a shift and will deliver whoever comes into the hospital. This brings up a few questions for me:
Will other OBGYNs go for this, since many of them like to deliver their own patients to keep their patient relations strong and build their practices based on loyal patients and referals?